Peace and helicopters

28 Apr

As I sat outside work today in the cool morning air, so many emotions went through my mind.  With my knees drawn up to my chest and my chin resting atop them but facing the sky, I gazed above at the billowy dark clouds rolling quickly by.  The threat of a storm was high except for the brief flashes of sunlight that would occasionally pop through the clouds as the weather tried to subtlely break.  I must’ve sat in that spot leaned up against the building for at least fifteen minutes, not sure whether to smile in wonder or cry in release of the frustration that has built up in me, which so closely imitated the show overhead.  And, as I sat there and waited to see which side would win out, I gathered small helicopters from the ground around me and released them into the air, watching as they carelessly spiraled back down to the ground.  Remember those paper thin veiny spinner leaves with seed pods attached at the end?  As a kid, I always used to love grabbing handfuls and throwing them over my head to run through as if in a shower.

Anyway, all of this made me think ultimately of two things: Lil Guy and a song by Taylor Swift titled “Never Grow Up.”  This has easily become one of my favorite songs and I strongly encourage everyone to listen to it.  Here are some of the lyrics:

Your little hands wrapped around my finger

And it’s so quiet in the world tonight

Your little eyelids flutter ’cause you’re dreaming

So I tuck you in, turn on your favorite night light

To you, everything’s funny

You got nothing to regret

I’d give all I have, honey

If you could stay like that

Oh, darling, don’t you ever grow up, don’t you ever grow up

Just stay this little

Oh, darling, don’t you ever grow up, don’t you ever grow up

It could stay this simple

I won’t let nobody hurt you

Won’t let no one break your heart

No, no one will desert you

Just try to never grow up, never grow up

 The first time I heard the song, I began to cry thinking of how quickly the days go by and how much Lil Guy has grown up already before my eyes.  And, as I sat there this morning, I was letting my internal sadness get to me until the moment I began to toy with those silly wonderful helicopters.  It was almost instant, no synonymous, for this song to begin playing over and over in my head as I thought about my innocent Lil Guy who needn’t worry about the millions of things I do every day.  He is in that constant state of discovery and amazement of the simplest things right now and I truly envy him.  He gets such joy out of examining bugs, playing with dirt and making a mess with his food – why can’t all life just stay that simple?

I glanced at my watch for a moment and sighed, but then realized that this was the first time in several days that I had truly relaxed.  So I allowed myself to easily slip back into embracing the moment – my desk and it’s mounds of paperwork could wait.

After a few more moments of peace, I stood, brushed myself off and marched back up the ramp and into the building.  I was a renewed woman ready to face the rest of the day with a new attitude.  I learned that I need to take more opportunitieslike this to make myself a better person, friend, worker and mother.  Just think, if we all did that once in a while, how much nicer the world would be…

3 Responses to “Peace and helicopters”

  1. Aunt Cyndi April 29, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Dear Jenny – you are doing a great job with your writing…. keep it up! It was a total pleasure reading all your topics and thoughts! These will become treasured memories for all who read them! Keep sharing! I an very proud of you!

    Love, Aunt Cyndi

    • stickynotequeen April 29, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

      Thank you so much for your comments! I am very much enjoying my love of writing again and will continue to write more! I will keep you posted – so to say…

      • Deb Shaffer April 30, 2011 at 8:05 am #

        Excellent, Chickie! I really enjoyed reading this, and I loved this song the first time I heard it! You’re doing a great job!
        Love ya,
        Mom

Leave a Reply

