Mommy’s Day (part 2)

7 May

Ok…  don’t know what happened there but for some reason only half of what I wrote posted to the blog.  So, here are the rest of my favorite things about motherhood:

  • There is nothing better in the world than arriving at Lil Guy’s daycare at the end of a stressful day at work and having him run up to me exclaiming “Mommy, I found you!” while he wraps his arms around my legs and almost knocks me down!
  • When Lil Guy is sick and all he wants to do is cuddle up sideways on my lap with his head on my chest while I rub his back.
  • I have a daytime job where my voice isn’t always heard and I do a lot of behind the scenes work but when I get home, this Lil Guy follows my example, absorbs what I say and truly looks up to me – wow, that’s power!
  • I get to say things that I never thought I would ever say like: “Come here and let me smell your butt,” “Don’t stick that in your nose” and “Please, just eat three more bites!”
  • Watching the joy spread all over Lil Guy’s face anytime he discovers something new like the workings of a slinky or how to climb up into his booster seat by himself
  • I love the fact that my Lil Guy cries out “Go O-yos (AKA Orioles)” and raising his fist high in the air at just the right moments while watching the baseball game with me on TV
  • And, I love that most of the time, instead of singing songs together like “Twinkle Twinkle” or “The Itsy Bitsy Spider,” we instead belt out “It’s My Life” and “You Give Love A Bad Name” by Bon Jovi.  Seriously, Lil Guy actually knows a lot of the words and chimes in while headbanging to the beat!  It’s the cutest thing in the world!  I will post a video soon; once I figure out how.

This doesn’t in any way cover everything in my life that I love about being a mother but it touches on the highlights.  I can’t wait to see what the future holds and how much more there is for both of us to learn together!  Happy Mother’s Day to all of the mothers out there!

Me and my favorite person in the whole world!

2 Responses to “Mommy’s Day (part 2)”

  1. hubby May 8, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Hey, those are my favorite things and favorite people. I always love reading everything you write. I love you babe, Happy Mothers Day!

  2. Caitlin {Pacifier In My Pocket} May 10, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    So sweet! I can’t wait to see the video. Hope you had a great Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

