Yummy yummy cupcakes!

24 Jul

Vanilla, chocolate, buttercream, food coloring, sprinkles decorating bags and tips…  All of these words have one theme in common (to me, at least) – YUM!  As a woman who has had an unquestionable sweet tooth for as long as I can remember, I was extemely excited to participate in “America’s Biggest Cupcake Decorating 101 Event” yesterday at the Renaissance Harborplace in Baltimore.  I am no expert in the kitchen but I enjoy cooking and LOVE baking.  I still recall many fond memories of baking Christmas cookies with my Grandma and cakes and pies with my mom when I was little.  Some of my favorite smells as a result are cake batter, vanilla extract, brown sugar and buttercream icing.  So, I can only describe myself as giddy going into the cupcake decorating class yesterday.  First of all, I guess I didn’t really take the title of the class to heart (“America’s Biggest…”) until I entered the massive ballroom packed with about 250 people at tables of 10.  Chatting with my new friend Caitlin, whom I met in line to check in, we found a table toward the center of the room and sat down.  Seven other women sat at the table varying in age from about 20 to 50.  In the center of the table sat a huge bowl of vanilla buttercream icing and several jars of food coloring.  On each placemat sat two small mixing dishes, spoons and a small decorating kit.  Glancing at the front of the room, two long tables were filled with dozens of tall glass cannisters of various bright crunchy toppings.  And, at another table a few feet away, baking assistants were laying out cupcake pans loaded with vanilla and chocolate cupcakes hot out of the oven to cool.  After about 10 minutes of the hustle and bustle of latecomers finding their seats and other people as nerdy as me taking pictures around the room to document the event, our lesson began.  The owner of Charm City Cupcakes, a petite pretty black woman took the microfone and began by telling her story of baking and coming into the business.  Over the course of the next 45 minutes, she described the proper way to create colored buttercream icing, use the decorating bags with each of the tips and the correct method of using the icing to make gorgeous designs on cupcakes as we followed along and practiced designs on our placemats.

The next hour was used to actually adorn our cupcakes with our two created colors of icing and use our imagination and creativity to add decorations as we saw fit.  All I can say is it was so much fun, both to learn new techniques and ideas and to not be responsible for the clean up afterwards.  And, there is almost nothing more pleasing to me than creating a beautifully delicious dessert for a group to eat and listening to their mouth-filled praises.  As a woman who collects baking cookbooks, has only one magazine subscription (to Simple and Delicious) and shamelessly watches “DC Cupcakes” and “Cupcake Wars” (as Hubby would call it my silly reality obsession); each time I complete a proud dessert or cupcake creation, I dream of one day becoming a master and owning a shop like in those shows.  I’ve got a long way to go but you’ve gotta start somewhere, right?!  Here are some shots of my finished cupcakes from the class.  Hopefully you’re impressed and I will be sure to keep you posted on any advances I make in the future!  🙂

Yummy!

Sugar rush!!!

One Response to “Yummy yummy cupcakes!”

  1. hubby July 24, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    They looked great and tasted great too babe. I’ll only eat one or two when I get home. Lol

Leave a Reply

