Five Minute Friday – Still

29 Jul

Still… 

Well, I was walking through the public library last night with Hubby and Lil Guy and I realized that there are still so many things I want to do with my life.  When I take a breath from the everyday hub bub, I consider several hobbies that I would like to be better at and several goals that I “need” to reach.  First of all, I was wandering the aisles looking for a book on blogging or WordPress tips since I am still in the learning process but I found myself dawdling (yes, I said it) around the cooking/cake decorating and arts and crafts section (not to mention the writing section as well).  I make it no secret that while I appreciate good art and attempt to be crafty, I’m just not.  Thus, why I was so excited with how beautiful my cupcakes turned out after last week’s decorating class (earlier blog “Yummy yummy cupcakes”).  Anyway, I think when it comes to creativity, I think that my problem is confidence; I always care too much about what others think.  I need to be able to open myself up to any possibilities and see where my imagination will take me on any given task.  That also goes for my writing.  The only book I checked out from the library was titled “So, I am an English major.  Now what?!”  I graduated from college 7 years ago with a Bachelors Degree in English with great expectations and I still have not accomplished any grand feats in that area of my life.  Sure, I’ve taken small steps with a few freelance articles about 5 or 6 years ago.  And, this blog is definitely being utilized as a stepping stone for me, but what do I really want to do?  I guess it just comes down to the fact that no matter what, I still have my English degree and that is forever.  I need to rise up to my potential, take a leap and see what’s out there!  (Wish me luck!)

Task: Well, I know the prompt for this linky said to only write for 5 minutes without editing or questioning as you go but with this being my first attempt at it, I admit I failed.  I wrote for 10 minutes and I did pause in the beginning as I thought and re-thought wording and direction.  That will be something I will work on for next Friday’s prompt.  Overall, I think this will be a wonderful activity for me each week to take the single word given and the short time alottment to write and see where my words take me!

4 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Still”

  1. Jess July 29, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    Hi, I just attempted my very first link-up as well. What fun! I forgot to add the button, though, whoops! I enjoyed reading your ‘still’ post. Keep walking ahead and keep walking through any open doors the Lord gives you. As tempting as it would be to be scared and sabotage yourself, walk with courage! Walk knowing you answer to One. Blessings to you!

  2. Jennifer@GDWJ July 31, 2011 at 3:04 am #

    I hear you! Writing for five minutes only is hard. But I think it’s an invigorating exercise. Nice job! 🙂

  3. Kevin August 3, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    You have a great writing style! Keep up the good work!

  4. 2GirlsonaBench August 3, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    We love the name of your blog and would like to crown ourselves Sticky Note Princesses or maybe Sticky Note Duchesses since you’ve nabbed the title of queen! We’ve both got that BA in English too, at least we can all write! 🙂

Leave a Reply

