Five Minute Friday – Older

27 Aug

Five Minute Friday – Older

Take five minutes and remember what it feels like to weave words together for the simple pleasure of how they sound. Without worrying about how they’re edited or perfected.  Topic today – older.

GO

In a week I will be a year older.  I will be 30 years old; a milestone that frightens some but I don’t really fear.  Why, because mostly I don’t feel older.  With each birthday, I simply enjoy time spent with friends and family while lavishing in the attention spent only on me.

There are two things, though, that do make me feel older.  The first of which is the changing of seasons.  Especially the transition of summer to fall; which we are on the cusp of.  My favorite season, hands down, is the fall.  I love the cooler weather, the rainbow of colors of leaves falling from the trees and most of all I love Halloween (the whole month of October, in fact).  But, fall never seems to last that long.  It rushes by with breakneck speed into the winter and I find myself in a self contained slump.  That is what makes me feel older.  Because I know that another year has passed by and I must wait several more months before we approach my favorite time again.

My second indication of aging is my Lil Guy.  I love him to death and he wears me out every day.  He will turn 3 just three days after my birthday and I can’t believe how time flies!  I feel that it takes so much energy to keep up with him, patience to deal with him and knowledge to teach him each day, that I get older as he does.

I am not the same woman I was 10, 5 or even 1 year ago simply because life happens.  Circumstances cause us to change our habits and morals to make things work.  But, each day is a blessing and with age comes wisdom and the comfort of learning a bit more of who I truly am inside.

STOP

I had so many thoughts on the subject of older but I seem to be all over the place content-wise.  Of course, that is the point of the exercise; to express my raw thoughts on the subject and see where it takes me.  This all still takes getting used to for a super perfectionist like me!

4 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Older”

  1. Jennifer Dawn McLucas August 27, 2011 at 3:00 am #

    Great post! Fall is my favorite time of year too… It’s almost here! 😉

  2. Calypso August 27, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    Good writing. I always read through my stuff and want to hit the backspace key soo bad. I realize when I just write for writings sake, some truths are revealed that are awesome. Sometimes it’s hard to face the things that are looking at you in black and white but that’s the path that leads to your heart’s desire……….
    You’ll have to read a book called, “Write it Down, Make it Happen..” phenomenal piece of work……..

  3. Karin B. August 27, 2011 at 3:42 am #

    …and the older you get the more you realize that perfection is something that nobody can ever achieve. The secret to staying young – at least at heart – is to never stop trying…
    Wishing you and your little guy only the best
    Karin (King) Browne

  4. Tiffany Button August 30, 2011 at 4:34 am #

    This was a beautiful post. I especially loved, “with age comes wisdom and the comfort of learning a bit more of who I truly am inside.” That is so true. I find that the older I get, the more self-acceptance I have, and the more I am able to embrace who I am.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

