Five Minute Friday – Rest

3 Sep

Five Minute Friday – Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.  Today’s topic – rest. 

 

Rest…

That is something I don’t seem to get much of these days.  Being a full time working mom to a soon-to-be three year old boy, I feel as if I’m in constant motion 24/7.  Between rising early at 4:30 a.m. each day to prepare myself for work at 6:00 and the time of about 9:30 p.m. when Lil Guy goes to bed, I don’t typically have much down time.

Even when I get home from work around 3:00 on the weekdays, between about 5:00 when I go to pick up Lil Guy from daycare, I utilize that time to change, clean the house or (if I’m lucky) blog.

I almost can’t stand to just sit around and do nothing – thanks Mom for passing along that wonderful trait of yours!  I almost feel that the obsessive compulsive person in me takes over because if there is a moment to spare then there must be something else to do or take care of.

It almost seems that our society as a whole is like that.  From fast food to drive through liquor stores (because, who really needs to go into the store?) to online check-ins for flights, everything is designed to speed up processes and propel us faster into other activities.

It’s a crazy roller coaster of life, but I would have it no other way!  Then again, maybe that’s why I crash on the couch every night around 10:00 while intending to catch up on a book or TV show!  I guess I’ll actually rest when I go up to Heaven one day.

2 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Rest”

  1. Kevin September 3, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    I don’t know how you do it. It makes me tired just reading it! LOL

  2. Andrea September 4, 2011 at 2:25 am #

    that schedule sounds exhausting! you sound so motivated though… i don’t think I could handle getting up at 430… but then I am not a morning person. haha!

    Thanks for stopping by on my SITS Day! I really do appreciate it. Hope you will visit again sometime!

Leave a Reply

