Top Ten Tuesday – Ode to my toddler

6 Sep

Three years ago today, I experienced something I feared for years that I would never be strong enough to go through – childbirth.  I was afraid of the pain involved, of losing my freedom and childhood and of failing as a parent all at the same time.  But, after the past three years of watching my Lil Guy grow from a helpless little baby into the independent smart spirited toddler he is today!

Today, on his 3rd birthday, I would like to share 10 important things Lil Guy has helped me realize about myself and life and why he makes me miss my childhood.

Top Ten things Lil Guy has taught me:

10) Everything will be okay as long as there’s a warm soft blanket to cuddle up with

9) You should always tell people how you feel, even if they won’t like it

8) Life is short – eat candy (okay, maybe I taught him this one instead…)

7) Sometimes pouting can get you what you want (it’s at least worth a try)

6) Always make time to play

 

5) Savor your food (it takes him about an hour of playing around to finish a meal – maybe he relishes the taste of cold food)

4) Let your inner goofiness come out often – laughter is the best medicine

3) It’s okay to color outside the lines, just as long as the masterpiece you create is truly yours

2) Sing and dance as if no one is watching!

1) Explore everything around you!  There is something new to discover every day!

I can watch Lil Guy for hours in amazement and admire his carefree attitude and innocence in life.  Thank you so much Lil Guy for being such a big and wonderful part of my life!  I love you!

 

6 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Ode to my toddler”

  1. Kevin September 7, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    Very nice piece Jen! My son is 14 now and reading that list took me right back through his toddler years, (Ok maybe not the childbirth part!) Keep up the great work!

  2. amanda burdge September 7, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    EVERYTHING will be OK when there is a soft blanket! haha

  3. Galit Breen September 7, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    What a sweet tribute to your little guy!

  4. jkstamy08 April 17, 2012 at 11:44 pm #

    Hahaha! I am sooo gonna try number 7 next time I want something!
    Just stopped by from UBP12 and am now subscribed. 🙂

    • stickynotequeen April 18, 2012 at 11:24 am #

      I know; isn’t that funny! Sometimes a pouty lip and puppy dog face goes a long way! LOL! And, thank you for becoming my newest follower! I hope you will enjoy my future writings and please always feel free to comment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ultimate Blog Party 2012! « stickynotequeen - April 16, 2012

    […] Ode To My Toddler […]

Leave a Reply

