Five Minute Friday – Joy

17 Sep

Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.  Topic – joy…

GO

JOY – a simple three letter word.  It can mean many things to each individual person.  One might find joy in raising children while another finds joy in the single life and bar hopping.  It can be found engaging in sports or in just losing oneself in a good book or favorite hobby.

No matter where one finds joy, it is in everyone’s life; we just have to look for it sometimes.  We can become overrun by everyday stresses that we forget to en-joy life and appreciate what we have.

I, personally have been going through a difficult situation recently and especially this past week, I have found myself in a funk.  When I let myself feel sorry for circumstances, it would be so easy to stay in bed or stay at home alone or eat lunch by myself and just wallow in my own self pity.  And, God knows, I try that every day.  But, then, I find joy again (or joy finds me) when I am reminded of what I do have.

I have an amazing beautiful three year old boy who loves me and I still get to spend plenty of time with almost every day.  I have family willing to drop what they are doing and help me with anything I need.  I have friends who listen to me talk and don’t judge.  What has gotten me through these past tough days are the simple things: an uplifting text message, an unexpected nice phone call, a warm hug, a much needed drink and friends just willing to let me vent or cry if it makes me feel better.   Just knowing that I still matter, I have and that somehow I will get through this brings the joy back into my life just a little bit…

3 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Joy”

  1. stickynotequeen September 17, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Oops, I forgot two things: a breakfast surprise from a friend to cheer me up and someone special detouring their night to cheer me up, even though I know they were exhausted from their own day!

  2. Lisa Maria September 17, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Hi there.. thanks for visiting my place and leaving such a nice comment! What a lovely list of things to give joy.. it reminds me of Anne Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts. Ever heard of it? Here’s a link. not sure if it will work though:

    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_i_3_4?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=1000+gifts+ann+voskamp&sprefix=1000

    Basically it is about finding joy and gratitude in the little things.. being grateful to God for every single blessing, big and small.

    God bless!

  3. melissa September 20, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    Stopping in from SITS. This post is a nice reminder to find the joy in everything! I too have those days that I have to reach down deep and pull out that inspiration!

Leave a Reply

