Five Minute Friday – Growing

23 Sep

Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.  Topic – growing

GO

I used to measure you in weeks; weeks left until you were born into this world.  Weeks of preparing your room, picking out a name and selecting your care.  Reading all about your organs and body parts as they were developing and anticipating what you would look like. 

After you were born, and for these first few years of your life, you have been measured in inches.  Inches tall, pounds gained and milestones reached.  I have watched you learn to roll, crawl, walk and run all in a span of three years.  Your speech has gone from simply “mommy” and “dat ball” to “mommy, can you please throw that ball to me and I’ll hit it!” 

In the coming years, you will be measured in feet.  Attending school, you will progress through the different grades as you learn math, science, history; some of which you will take that knowledge with you further in life.  You will become involved in sports and I’ll watch you grasp the concept of hand-eye coordination and teamwork as I cheer you on from the sidelines. 

One day, you’ll go off to college and I’ll measure you in distance and time.  Time between phone calls detailing your adventures and accomplishments as I watch your life develop from afar.  You will be exploring life by trial and error and anxious to see what’s out there. 

No matter where life takes you and what you encounter, you grew from inside of me and we will always be connected.  I will always be amazed at how you grow and change every day and wonder what the next will bring.   

STOP

25 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Growing”

  1. Jenny September 23, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Wow, what a great post. It is amazing to think about how much and HOW our little ones grow and how we reflect on that throughout the years. Thanks for such a thoughtful post!

  2. Jennifer September 23, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Love this celebration of your son’s growth. So sweet, tender, and beautiful. This will be held close. Thank you.

  3. aseedinspired September 23, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    awwww super sweet.
    T

  4. Tiffany Button September 23, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    I loved this and completely relate. I especially loved, “One day, you’ll go off to college and I’ll measure you in distance and time.” It’s so true.
    Stopping by from The Gypsy Mama.

  5. Brittany September 23, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    I never thought about the different ways we measure growth! You expressed it beautifully!

  6. Pam September 26, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    This is so beautiful and touching. As a mom who will soon be sending my baby girl off to college, the measurement of distance and time hit me the hardest.

  7. Eva Gallant September 27, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    I just browsed your blog and wanted to tell you that your pictures are precious! I love them all! I just stopped by from SITS to say hello and hope you find the time to do the same.

  8. Blond Duck September 29, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Popped in from SITS! This is so sweet.

  9. RubberChickenMa (@RubberChickenMa) February 23, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Great post about how they grow! Stopped by from SITS today. Love your words, love your blog 🙂

  10. sheri February 23, 2012 at 12:47 pm #

    I LOVED this post. I had a 12 and 17 year old when I became unexpectedly pregnant with my 3rd, who is now 3. I feel like I’m measuring this time with him just as you described so beautifully. Seeing my older 2 – one almost through with college and the other halfway through high school – makes time seem all the more poignant. So glad SITS shared you with us today! 🙂

  11. melindaraineythompson February 23, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    It’s the baby feet that bring me to my knees. Now, I have teenagers with MUCH bigger feet than mine. There is nothing quite like the moment when you have to tell your teenage son, “You HAVE to cut those toenails, son!” Ha!

  12. leahmariev February 23, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    You are a fantastic writer! I love this idea, I will have to try it sometime. Just write, barely think… Happy SITS day, congrats and so glad I got to read some of your posts!

  13. MARIE COLE February 23, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    That would take me a year to write and it still wouldn’t be that good. 😉

  14. Cheryl February 23, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

    Love this story! My son is almost 10 months old and I’m amazed at the new things he learns every day. Thanks for sharing and Happy SITS Day!

  15. Kristi February 23, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    A beautiful post! Happy SITS day!

  16. misssrobin February 23, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Beautifully painted.

  17. Morgan Kellum February 23, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    What a wonderful chronicle of your little fellows life … a treat to read!

    Enjoy your SITS day!

  18. Martine De Luna (@Dainty_Mom) February 23, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

    I LOVED this, Jennifer! I love freewriting, too. I regret that I’ve not done much of it in the past year. I suppose that’s what happens when writing is a job!

    Thank you for inspiring me to write for LOVE again. You are awesome! I’m loving your blog. Happy SITS Day!

    • Tara @ secretsofamomaholic.com February 23, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

      Its true- sometimes you just have to write and not overthink too much.

    • stickynotequeen February 29, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

      Awww, I’m glad I inspired you to write for LOVE again! It is so much fun, isn’t it?! Thank you for visiting! Please come back anytime!

  19. Vonae Deyshawn February 23, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

    This is such a great idea. I received a degree in creative writing as well so I find that I take my writing entirely too seriously. Every time I start writing I get anxious because of the entire workshop, professor criticism, revision process I went through school. I’m starting to learn just to write what comes out and then go back and edit. (Just once! Not a million times : )) Happy SITS day!

    Vonae Deyshawn
    http://www.myvirtueplace.com

  20. Tara @ secretsofamomaholic.com February 23, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

    I really loved this post from start to finish!

  21. I would love to try this on my blog. I wonder if I can write for 5 minutes. Well, we shall see. I have a timer in the kitchen (I think there’s one on my phone and iPod; probably one on my notebook).

    I’m really impressed that you wrote 5 minutes straight with no editing. Bravo!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ultimate Blog Party 2012! « stickynotequeen - April 16, 2012

    […] Growing […]

Leave a Reply

