Five Minutes Friday – Ordinary

8 Oct

Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.  Today’s word – ordinary.

GO

or·di·nar·y

1.      Of no special quality or interest; commonplace; unexceptional

2.      plain or undistinguished

3.     somewhat inferior or below average; mediocre.

4.     customary; usual; normal

So many definitions for one word; all basically meaning “nothing special.”  Ordinary can be used to describe a day, a person, a situation or anything.  And, who would want to be classified as ordinary anyway?  Who sets the standards for what is ordinary and what is not?  Because, to determine something as plain or average, the definition of special and above average must be made clear.  And, at that, if something is above average and distinguished, is it also thought of as prissy or snotty?
These are some of the things I wonder when people pay me compliments because I still think of myself as average compared to the majority of made up and surgically enhanced women out there.  (I know, I know; I’m still working on my self esteem issue).  I suppose, then, that while beauty is in the eye of the beholder, the beholder would then be the one who determines what “ordinary” versus “extraordinary” is at the time.  If they are rewarding someone with a compliment, then they have found something noticable in the other person that stands out from the crowd.  And, what one person finds attractive or eye-catching, another may be turned off by it.
So, every person is extarordinary to someone else in one way or another.  And, therefore, no one should be classified as “ordinary” because, really it’s just too plain of a word.  Every single person in this world is unique in looks, thoughts and mannerisms.  If we weren’t, it would be such a boring world, wouldn’t it?  The next time I think of myself as ordinary or average, I will try to remember that the only people who think that about me are the ones who haven’t gotten to know me (and my many little quirks) very well.
STOP

2 Responses to “Five Minutes Friday – Ordinary”

  1. Asma Siddique October 8, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

    Your words are so inspiring to me, thank you for the wonderful post.

  2. Megan (Best of Fates) October 11, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

