Five Minute Friday – Catch

14 Oct

Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.  Today’s topic – catch…

GO

Life is full of ups and downs and surprises at every turn.  How can anyone ever be prepared for what’s to come because it may always change at a moments notice?  Growing up, it was issues with school work and classmates.  Into my college years, it was finding the right balance between classes, a part time job and sleep.  Later, it was trying different relationships to find “Mr. Right.”  Now, as an adult, what I worry about most is raising my beautiful son and keeping a job that will continue to provide for him.

I have spent many days and nights over the years worrying, analyzing, even crying over life issues.  And, no matter how much I couldn’t change a grade given, a job lost or a failed relationship, they always hurt and leave scars on my heart.  And, it can be so difficult to raise your chin and keep going when you already feel that the world is against you in one way or another.

But, what I have learned over time; especially recently, is that no matter what direction life takes you, everything will be fine as long as I allow people to catch me. Friends and coworkers may change with time and circumstances but family will always be in my blood. And, no matter who is there to pick me up when I fall and let me cry on their shoulder, at least I have love and support to help me through.

I will be forever grateful to those who aren’t afraid to stand by my my side when I fall apart to catch me. With them, I regain the strength and confidence that I know is in me.

 

2 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Catch”

  1. Andrea October 16, 2011 at 4:12 am #

    That is so true. Being able to trust the people around you is priceless.

  2. Paula October 16, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    Thank you for writing this. I, too, worry and re-think about the decisions in my life and wonder how long it will be before I finally just let it go and get on with living in the present. We recently moved across the country, and every once in a while, I think about what we’re missing out on at “home”. Then I stop and realize that our friends and family there are wondering what they’re missing out on here and I can always ring one of them up for a lift. Always embrace the precious present moment.

Leave a Reply

