Five Minute Friday – Beyond

22 Oct

Prompt: Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.  Today’s topic – beyond…

GO

So, is it silly that the word today made me think of only one simple thought initially?  As I read it in the prompt, I heard Buzz Lightyear’s voice saying “To infinity and beyond!”  I smile to myself as I attribute this connection to how many times I’ve seen Toy Story 3 since it was given to Lil Guy for Easter this past spring.  Yes, Easter!

I feel that since April, Lil Guy has been obsessed with this movie and it’s loveable characters.  He could watch that movie any time of day, he has dozens of Toy Story toys and his new room is decked out in Toy Store bed ware and decor.  Also, this year, I didn’t have to ask Lil Guy (or persuade him) what he wanted to be for Halloween because he approached me and claimed all by himself that he wanted to be Buzz Lightyear.

And, I’ll give it the fact that the movie is very cute for viewers of all ages but I guess I was burned out of the whole concept months ago.  Oh well, I guess it could be worse.  There are many other things he could be obsessed with that are highly annoying, like The Wiggles or Barney.  And, I should let him watch this as much as he wants as opposed to him seeing things like The Walking Dead on TV as he did the other day.  (I was finishing the last few minutes of the show and thought Lil Guy was coloring until he said to me “They got him!  Mommy, they got him!” as the characters on screen were hacking up a zombie with an ax…

STOP

3 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Beyond”

  1. lynhallewell October 22, 2011 at 2:43 am #

    I love the Toy Story movies. My kids have never been heavily into them, so we just watch them now and again! Toy Story 3 still makes me cry at the end when Andy has one last play with Woody and Buzz. It’s the whole kid grows up, leaves home scenario – always makes me weepy!

    My kids are 12 and 10. When they were little is was back to back Bob the Builder. Totally get the “if I hear it again” thing. Can we fix it? No, actually Bob, we can’t!

  2. Taylor October 22, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    My son went through a phase where he watched Blue’s Clues constantly. I’m serious when I say he was completely obsessed. He had (or has, as it may be since he refuses to give them up) Blue blankets, wall stickers, stuffed animals, “action figures”, a little Steve doll, even a thinking chair….and my favorite, he has Steve’s outfit. He used to wear it back to back so we ended up buying two more Steve shirts so we could do laundry.

    Last Spring, he started to get more interested in Cars (actually, that did become his new obsession), and then Spiderman (but not any Spiderman, it has to be “Spectacular Spiderman”). I have to admit, I hid all the Blue’s dvds and pushed for Cars and Spiderman (before I knew that would end up being his drug of choice).

    My point, he’ll get over it. And it will be a fond memory for you. In fact, you’ll find it hard to give it up. You’ll look at his Blue dolls…er, I mean Toy Story dolls and think about selling them in the next yard sale only to get all nostalgic that your son was so into it for so long.

    On another note, my first thought with this prompt was also, “To Infinity, and Beyond!!!” So you aren’t the only momma who immediately thinks kids’ stuff with any given prompt. 🙂

  3. Sara October 24, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    This is a really cute idea. I thought about Toy Story too when I was reading your prompt.

    Its funny how the mind works?

Leave a Reply

