Love Letter

19 Nov

This week, Mama Kat’s Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop listed a few writing prompts to choose from and I selected 5) Write a love letter to an inanimate object.  Anyone who knows me well knows that there is one object I am almost inseparable from: my cell phone.  So, below you will find my slightly embarassing love letter that I composed.

My Dearest Droid 2,

Oh how I love thee, let me count the ways.  I love how you are always there for me and conveniently keep me connected to the world in so many possible ways.  My top apps are texting, Facebook, email, WordPress and Words With Friends.  So, with you, I wouldn’t ever need an actual computer to check my email, write or track a blog post or play a game to pass the time.  I also can check the weather at the drop of a hat and can have my shopping list at my fingertips with the Out of Milk app.  

Pretty much the only time that you are turned off is the 8 hours a day during the week when you must wait in my console while I am at work.  The time passes so slowly for me as I anxiously await returning to my car and to hear your familiar chime as you warm up for me.  It is like a sweet reunion each time as you boot up and ready yourself for me to make a phone call  or send a text message after a long day behind a desk. 

Even though you go with everywhere with me and we are always close, I still become giddy when Bon Jovi’s “It’s My Life” plays out of your speaker to signal a phone call coming in or when you chirp in that twinkly sound to alert me of a text message received. 

And, after a year long courtship now, you bear many scratches and dents on your body but you are still beautiful to me.  I still love how you slide gracefully sideways to reveal your soft raised keyboard and how you light up to grab my attention. 

I actually love you so much that the only problem I have with you is your energy for me.  As much as I use you, I wear you down too quickly and find that by mid afternoon, I must quickly plug you in so that you can recharge your battery or you give out on me.  I hate so much when we are apart since I rely on you so heavily for my every need.  In fact, I’m really not even sure that I would know how to drive my car without using you to make phone calls (with my trusty bluetooth in my ear, of course).  

Droid 2, I really don’t remember my life before you and don’t know what I’d do without you now, so please understand my heavy use of you is true love, not abuse and stay with me always!

Your’s forever,

Jen

  

4 Responses to “Love Letter”

  1. Pattyann November 19, 2011 at 4:45 am #

    Love it!! I love my droid too, yet, I find it takes so much time that I am thinking of getting rid of it. I find that I can’t manage to spend enough time with all the other things in my life that are even more important. I love your thoughts though. I know that I will miss mine!!

  2. growingintome November 19, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Hee hee, that was cute!! Thanks for the smiles this morning!!

  3. Kevin November 19, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Fun story! I also have the Droid 2. Without it I would be like Linus without his blanket!

  4. mommyinconsistent November 19, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    That is a wonderful love letter…To have such love in your life is truly a wonderful thing…haha! Great post…visiting from MamaKat’s Writer’s Workshop.

Leave a Reply

