Thanksgivings past

22 Nov

I saw a few prompts this week that all have to do with Thanksgiving.  The one that I chose to write about was: write a favorite Thanksgiving memory.  Well, having grown up partly overseas and visited so many different places, I found it difficult to choose just one favorite Thanksgiving memory.  So, I figured I would share a few:

  • Gathered around a small table at Pizza Hut with my parents, brother and sister and sharing a warm pepperoni pizza as we sheltered ourselves from the dreary fog and rain of London.  It sure was no turkey dinner but I remember the excitement I felt as I scarfed down my fo0d in anticipation of climbing onto the giant red double-decker bus to head to the theater in downtown London to see “Grease!”  I still remember how amazing it was to see the massive Harrod’s brightly lit up for Christmas as we passed down the busy streets adorned with wreaths and Christmas lights.   
  • Another Thanksgiving break spent on a bus trip with my two best friends and my mom to Euro Disney in Paris.  This trip was also a rainy one but we had so much fun!  I remember all of the craziness from belting out Aqua’s “Barbie Girl” in the back row of the bus (most definitely annoying the other passengers) to getting ourselves all glammed up to walk the Champs Elysees and shop to running all around Euro Disney from ride to ride!  This Thanksgiving dinner was spent in a McDonald’s while my two friends ate burgers and my mom and I had tuna sandwiches (that we packed).  I was actually embarassed by the fact that my mom wanted to save money and I had to eat tuna fish with celery in it (YUCK!) so I tried to stick it under the table when she wasn’t looking.  Well, she caught me just as I had smashed the sandwich into the underside of the table and made me eat it anyway, so there in front of my friends, I had to eat the tuna sandwich with who knows what other flavors (from gum, dirt, or whatever else was under there) and this was my “Thanksgiving” dinner.
  • Another thing I remember about the holidays in general was that living overseas, I certainly came to miss my extended family.  Though we had a whole new world to explore, the holidays were not quite the same without sitting around a long table and bumping elbows with aunts, uncles, grandparents while indulging in turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes and cranberry sauce all while the little cousins ran around wreaking havoc!  So, being thousands of miles away from home, we had to create our own extended “family” with other families also in the same situation.  I remember one particular Thanksgiving during which we did enjoy a traditional feast and my mom invited some other families and the single soldiers from the base to join in.  Our house was filled with the warmth and noise of joyous well-fed people.  We gathered for hours and carried on as if we had been blood relatives for life and enjoyed each other’s company. 

Do you have a favorite Thanksgiving memory?

2 Responses to “Thanksgivings past”

  1. Karen, author of "My Funny Dad, Harry" November 24, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Thanksgiving at Pizza Hut sounds like something we might do! I wrote about this prompt too.

  2. Andrea November 24, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Ok that tuna sandwich sounds a bit umm gross. But hey it makes a good story! Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

