The unexpected

17 Dec

“Three, two, one…  Happy New Year!”  Smiling faces, laughter flowing, fancy clothes and bubbly champagne.  Hugs and kisses at midnight too.  All of these things signal the culminating moment at the end of each year with a breath of relief after the hectic holidays and the promise of a new start in the coming year and all of the unknowns that brings.

I have spent New Year’s Eve with family, friends, at Baltimore’s Inner Harbor, at college parties and cozied up at friends’ houses.  Every year my plans were made in advance, I knew what to expect and who I would be with.  This year, however, is a little different.  With New Year’s Eve arriving in less than two weeks, I have no idea where I will be celebrating and who I will be celebrating with.  As Hubby and my separation is still fairly fresh (a few months now), I will still miss the familiarity that came with knowing that I at least had one person by my side for life on occasions like this.

I can do anything I choose this New Year’s Eve.  I can spend it with family quietly at home, with friends out and wild or in Times Square (like I’ve always wanted to).  Now, I don’t honestly think I’ll go to New York on the 31st, but the point is, if I wanted to, I could.  I want this year’s celebration, no matter what I do, to be a reflection of the new freedom and hope I have for the future.  It’s definitely a scary crazy world and I’m entering into uncharted territory in the next year.  So, I guess in the spirit of the coming new year and the tradition of resolutions made (which I don’t usually do), I will make a resolution this time…

To be true to myself, live life to it’s fullest and work hard for the life I long for and deserve for myself and my son.

This post was inspired by the prompt from Write On Edge, Red Writing Hood to begin a story, fiction or non-fiction with “Three, two, one…”

2 Responses to “The unexpected”

  1. angela December 18, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

    What I love the most about this post is that you’re embracing the hope and possibility of the unexpected. Change can be scary at times, but your positive outlook is going to make all the difference in the world. Happy New Year to you, no matter what you decide to do with your newfound lack of expectations for the evening!

  2. Kevin December 24, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    I wish you all the best in your new endeavors that life brings you!

Leave a Reply

