Five Minute Friday – Tender

28 Jan

Well, another week has come and gone and it’s time for another Five Minute Friday.  Today’s prompt: write for five minutes without overthinking or editing about the word “tender.”

GO

I collapse onto the brown leather couch and immediately am chilled by it’s cool feeling through my shirt.  Even though I position myself into the corner with my arms crossed around my sides, it is difficult to get warm.  But, a moment later, I hear the pitter patter of little feet as my precious boy bounds over to me.  Gazing up at me with a hopeful look in his eye, he says “Mommy, can I sit wif you?”

Awww, goes my heart, as I invite him onto the couch with me.  He eagerly slides his body up next to mine and fits himself under my arm.  We smile at each other before he wraps his arms around my body and we snuggle up together.  We fix our gazes on the tv, which is playing one of his favorite movies.  Well, he is watching the movie and I find myself mostly watching him.  I notice the serious look of concentration on his face and the tiny fidgety motions he makes with his fingers as he is totally mezmerized by the animated characters on the screen.  I gently stroke his fine short blonde hair and lean in to kiss him on the cheek.

It’s these tender moments that I treasure most in life.  No matter what is happening around me or how bad of a day it’s been, just sitting like this with Lil Guy washes it all away.  As long as I have his love, I can get through whatever obstacles I encounter.

STOP

2 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Tender”

  1. Hopeannfaith January 28, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    Beautiful. I remember those days … and yet, one of my boys (an adult) will still be affectionate in a closeness and I am reminded of the boy he was … as you just did for me.
    Thank you.
    Blessings.

  2. redheadreverie January 29, 2012 at 1:54 am #

    It’s those tender moments that just make everything OK…Lovely post. It makes me want to go cuddle my kiddos.

Leave a Reply

