Seed of hope

20 Mar

Love like you’ve never been hurt.
Dance like nobody’s watching.
Sing like nobody’s listening..
Live like it’s Heaven on Earth.

May there always be work for your hands to do;

May your purse always hold a coin or two;

May the sun always shine on your windowpane;

May a rainbow be certain to follow each rain;

May the hand of a friend always be near you;
May God fill your heart with gladness to cheer you.

And may you be in heaven a half hour before the devil knows you’re dead.


This week RemembeRED is asking us to write about hope (x) as illustrated through _____ (y).  To me, hope comes from the small graces in life, as expressed above.  Just when I am down and think no one is there for me, a hand reaches out or a voice speaks to me.  At times when I have no money in my account, an unexpected few dollars are found to get me through.  And, I still will always remember a story my grandmother told me a few years ago of a time when my mother, aunt and uncles were all very young and she and my grandfather were struggling to make ends meet.  They didn’t have much money or food and had a few unexpected guests in need arrive at their house one night for dinner (my grandfather was an Episcopal minister).  With nothing but a few boxes of macaroni and cheese, my grandmother prayed that it would be enough to satisfy the hunger of her family of six and the extra adult guests.  With a huge smile on her face, she told me that she had no idea how but that small amount of food fed everyone and there was even some left over!  

Things always seem to work out with just a little bit of hope and faith!     

Leave a Reply

