Five Minute Friday – Gift

30 Mar

The prompt today from The Gypsy Mama is to write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking on: gift.

GO

There are so many occasions throughout the year (birthdays, Christmas, Valentine’s Day, etc.) during which gifts are a prominent factor.  And, mostly a gift is an item given to another person as a surprise that they can enjoy.  Don’t get me wrong here, I love surprises (good ones, that is) and I absolutely love gifts.  But, for me, those two words don’t fit together.  Because, ever since I was a little girl, I have been a snooper.

I learned from an early age where my parents kept the Christmas presents stashed weeks before December 25 and would sneak in to get a glimpse of how large my stack was and shake a few boxes to figure out what they were.  My mom was pretty good at wrapping early but every once in a while, I would come across a few unopened gifts and check them out.  There was even one Easter that I found my basket in my mom’s walk-in closet and there was a purse in it.  But, it wasn’t the original purse I pointed out to her in the store so disappointment began to wash over me.  Nevertheless, I carefully took the purse out of the center of the artificial grass in an attempt to not disturb the rest of the candy surrounding it.  I ran to get the purse I was currently using and emptied its contents onto my parent’s bed.  Then, I meticulously placed each item into the gift purse and modeled it on my shoulder in front of the mirror.  After a few moments of twirling and admiring, I decided I liked this purse better than the other one I spotted in the store, emptied it back out and placed it back in my basket with newfound satisfaction.

You would think that snooping takes the fun out of receiving a gift for me but I guess it’s become almost a challenge or a game for me.  I lived with my husband for about 6 and a half years and he became quite crafty with hiding spots for gifts but that didn’t stop me from trying.  And, as I have gotten that true in nature from my mother, I’m sure I will be a snooper until the day I die.   🙂

STOP  

5 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Gift”

  1. Eli March 30, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    Hahaha I used to snoop in my mama’s closet too!

  2. mamaabby March 30, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    i love your snooper story…i can hardly wait to give the gift, but my kids seem not to, snoop if there is a delay anyway;} but that is a fabulous snooper story and should change the opinions of all who judge snoopers!! fun to be with you today…visiting from Gypsy Mama’s:}

  3. circunvalacion de Alicante March 31, 2012 at 8:06 am #

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wanted to mention that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I am hoping you write once more very soon!

  4. Kevin April 1, 2012 at 12:30 am #

    Good story. Super snooper! LOL

  5. JD04 April 1, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    bet i can think of one gift you never found

Leave a Reply

