A truly universal remote

3 May

One of the prompts given at Mama’s Losin’ It was to write about an invention I’d like to see created.

My answer to this is: a universal remote.  I know, I know!  I’m not stupid, I know that universal remotes exist for the tv.  And even for lights, music, ceiling fans, etc.  But, I am talking about a universal remote for people and everyday actions.  I’m talking like the remote from Way Way Way Beyond in the movie “Click.”  In the movie, Adam Sandler could use the remote to mute his wife while she was lecturing him, fast forward through an argument and even paused his boss so that he could smack him upside the head a few times with a golf club!  Boy, would that come in handy in dealing with many of the frustrating day to day occurrences!  But, of course, other things would need to be controlled by this remote too, such as: parting traffic during a jam, rigging the lottery numbers in my favor or being able to alter the weather would all come in handy too (as it did for Jim Carrey in “Bruce Almighty”).   It would be so nice to turn a rainy day around abruptly with sunshine, an automatic lottery win and anything else I might want on a whim!

And, yes, I realize again that I’m dreaming and most things are better left to nature or chance or God’s will.  But, hey, this is my wish for an invention!  So, cut me some slack!

What invention do you wish would become a reality?

 

5 Responses to “A truly universal remote”

  1. Kevin May 5, 2012 at 2:06 am #

    I’m thinking I want one of those remotes!

  2. Kat May 7, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    That would seriously come in handy every once in awhile!!

  3. Cyn & Co. May 7, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    I’m with Kevin, I’ll take one of those remotes myself! Great idea.

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s. Excellent post.

  4. Jennifer Worrell May 7, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    I’ll be first in line to by one!! Great idea!

  5. Audrey May 7, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Have you ever played a RPG? Because I would love a Bag of Holding. This mysterious accessory can hold an infinite amount of stuff. Including entire people! You can put a seriously ill person in there and it essentially stops time until you can get them help. I would love that. No more airport luggage check-ins, no more car packed with stuff on camping trips making for cramped travel. Just a little bag holding more than anyone realizes. (popping in from Spring Fling)

Leave a Reply

